Skip to content Skip to navigation


In 2014, SMU and SAF signed an agreement to establish the SMU Warriors Scholarship (SWS). The bond free scholarships aim to equip SAF military servicemen with an SMU Masters and help them transition from military service to their next career and calling. We are proud that to date, over 45 SMU Warriors Scholars like yourself, have benefited from this scheme.

In appreciation of the learning, networking and career opportunities SMU has invested through the SWS, a group of SWS Alumni are initiating the SMU Warriors Fund to support financially-needy students with per capital income of less than $2,500 with a SMU Warriors Bursary.

As past beneficiaries of the SWS, we appeal for your support as a way of paying it forward to help others in need. The SMU Warrior Bursary will specifically help national servicemen from low income families, who have dedicated their time and performed well in serving our Nation, so that they too may have the better opportunity to progress and succeed in their studies and careers.

The enduring duration of the SMU Warriors Fund is dependent on the amount of funds we can raise. The SMU Warriors Fund could either be a term or endowment fund, depending on the amount of funds we can raise. Term funds will only last as long as there are sufficient funds to disburse a bursary of about $7,000 to a recipient. If we were to set up as an endowment fund, every $150,000 raised will allow the bursary to support one student per year, in perpetuity. Endowment fund will also attract an additional MOE matching which will be directed to the SMU Warriors Fund. All donations will enjoy 2.5times tax deduction.

To date, with the generous support and contributions from the following Warriors Scholars, we have raised a total of $200,500 which will go towards supporting 2 bursaries for needy students in perpetuity. We hope to continue this act of paying it forward and inspire more students and alumni to come forward with the gift of education for deserving students.

We acknowledge the following donors who made the establishment of the SMU Warriors Fund possible:

Alan Ng Miaw Peng

Lai Hing Nam

Tan Teck Guan

Ang Hai Soon

Lawrence Teh Yew Kiat

Tan Wel Shi

Ang Kheng Leong Benedict

Liew Kien Peng

Tay Chee Bin

Bertrand Tan Yu-Jin

Lim Bock Aeng Arthur

Tay Thien Seng

Chan Wing Kai

Lim Seng Hock

Teo Wee Hong

Chia Mui Sowe

Lock Kok Leong

Tham Tiem Foo

Chua Boon Keat

Neil Alan Dyason

Thiruthakka Devan S/O K Perumal

Ho Kok Loke

Ng Boon Heong

Yacob Bin Ahmad

Ivan Hoe Chew Khay

Sunil Kumar S/O S A Pillai

Anonymous Donors

Kong Kam Yean

Tan Tai Tiong




Please note that all donations will be filed electronically to IRAS if you are a qualifying tax resident of Singapore. Physical copy of the receipt will only be issued for donations above S$20.

The check out and payment page may take some time to load. Please do not go back or refresh the page after submitting your credit card details. When entering individual details on the payment page, please select N/A if you have a non-US address.

I wish to make a Pledge Over 4 Years  One-time Donation 

Last updated on 07 Jan 2019 .