SMU Warriors Fund

On 14 January 2014, then Chief of Defence Force, Lieutenant-General (LG) Ng Chee Meng signed a Memorandum of Agreement on the SMU Warriors Scholarship (SWS) with SMU President Professor Arnoud De Meyer. The bond-free scholarship is awarded to recognise Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) servicemen who are retiring for their years of contribution to Singapore and to help them in their transition as they embark on their second careers. To date, SMU has awarded 47 scholarships. Many of the scholarship recipients continue to contribute to our society in various domains, helming senior leadership positions in both the private and public sectors. These include the areas of education, defence, finance, entrepreneurship and social work.

In appreciation of the learning, networking and career opportunities SMU has provided through the SWS, a group of SWS alumni and students initiated the SMU Warriors Fund to support financially-needy students as a way of paying it forward. In addition to financial support, the group hope to contribute their time and talent in mentoring and coaching the younger graduates and alumni at SMU.

To date, with generous support and contributions from the following Warriors Scholars, we have raised a total of $200,500 which will go towards supporting 1 bursary for needy students in perpetuity. We hope to continue this act of paying it forward and inspire more students and alumni to come forward with the gift of education for deserving students.

Endowment fund will also attract an additional MOE matching which will be directed to the SMU Warriors Fund. All donations will enjoy 2.5 times tax deduction.

We acknowledge the following donors who made the establishment of the SMU Warriors Fund possible, thank you for your generosity!

Alan Ng Miaw Peng
Ang Hai Soon
Ang Kheng Leong Benedict
Bertrand Tan Yu-Jin
Chan Wing Kai
Chia Mui Sowe
Chua Boon Keat
Ho Kok Loke
Ivan Hoe Chew Khay
Kong Kam Yean

Lai Hing Nam
Lawrence Teh Yew Kiat
Liew Kien Pen
Lim Bock Aeng Arthu
Lim Seng Hoc
Lock Kok Leong
Neil Alan Dyason
Ng Boon Heon
Sunil Kumar S/O S A Pilla
Tan Tai Tion

Tan Teck Guan
Tan Wel Shi
Tay Chee Bin
Tay Thien Seng
Teo Wee Hong
Tham Tiem Foo
Thiruthakka Devan S/O K Perumal
Yacob Bin Ahmad
Anonymous Donors